By Stacey Anderson, Nassau Tennis Club
Here’s the scenario:
You are playing doubles. You are serving and the returner indicates they are ready to receive and you serve the ball. The receiver is unable to return your serve but the receiver’s partner says they were not ready. Is it an ace or do you replay the point? What is the call?
It’s an ACE!
On the doubles court, the receiver is responsible for indicating that their team is ready – this includes their partner too. So if the receiver attemps to return the serve — they are considered ready!
Source: Tennis Channel, Court Rules.